Tuesday, 28 June 2022

Fwd: IFNTF Symposathon Call for Papers and Registration Open - September 19 -20, 2022 "REshaping Teaching Excellence: Pandemic and the New Now "


IFNTF "Symposathon" 

September 19 -20, 2022 

REshaping Teaching Excellence: Pandemic and the New Now 


The International Federation of National Teaching Fellows (IFNTF) is pleased to host a virtual "symposathon" (Symposium + Marathon) in September 2022.  


IFNTF (https://www.ifntf.org) is a non-for-profit organization that aims to bring together award-winning teachers from across the world for the global advancement of excellence in learning and teaching in higher education. The federation was officially launched at the House of Lords in London, UK, in September 2016, and currently has members from Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, UK and the USA, and all members aim to work in collaboration on innovative projects and initiatives on teaching and learning pedagogies in higher education.  


This is the fourth annual international summit/symposium held by IFNTF. The IFNTF First World Summit in 2017 in Birmingham, UK, featured the theme Defining Teaching Excellence across Disciplines. The IFNTF Second World Summit in Halifax, Canada, in 2018, was themed Nurturing Teaching Excellence across Disciplines. The IFNTF 2021 Symposium held in conjunction with the Canadian STLHE conference featured Shaping Teaching Excellence across Disciplines.  


This year the symposathon will be themed REshaping Teaching Excellence: Pandemic and the New Now. The IFNTF symposathon will feature keynote speakers from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the UK and the USA, presentations from authors of accepted papers, and participant-led breakout sessions and panel discussions. The broad focus will be on maintaining a culture of teaching excellence in the pandemic and post-pandemic era, high-impact pedagogies, student engagement strategies, impactful teaching, and case studies. 



In its true spirit as an international federation, the symposathon will run in multiple time zones that will be convenient for participants from both the Northern and the Southern hemispheres. Each time zone will host the symposathon in a 3-hour time slot. There will be an additional one-hour "handover" slot during which participants from the previous time zone may find it convenient to attend the first hour session from the next time zone. Please see the timings of the symposathon below.



We welcome submissions for paper sessions. Papers can be theoretical, conceptual, and/or empirical. Authors should submit an extended summary limited to 1500 words (excluding references). Papers should be related to the key theme of the conference and the key task areas.  


Submissions are welcome from all educators. However, at least one of the co-authors of each paper must be eligible for full membership at IFNTF. That is, at least one of the co-authors must have received a national teaching fellowship in their home country. 


To submit your extended summary, please go to https://forms.gle/HKUqPUWjufSNfH3G9 


All accepted submissions will be published in an e-book and made available on the IFNTF website. 



Submissions due:                                                          July 31, 2022 (11.59 PM Anywhere on Earth) 

Notification of acceptance:                                           August 20, 2022 

Registrations due (for accepted authors):                     August 31, 2022 



There will be a nominal registration fee of 30 GBP (approximately 50 USD) for participants. Students can register for free.  The registration link for the conference is at 




IFNTF welcomes new members to join the federation and collaborate internationally, promoting and sharing evidence-based strategies for excellence in teaching and learning in higher education. For more information about the types of membership and for enrolling as a member, please visit: https://www.ifntf.org/page-membership 


IFNTF Executive Committee  

Martina A. Doolan              

President, IFNTF

National Teaching Fellow and Associate Professor,
Department of Computer Science, University of Hertfordshire, UK 


Stephen Rutherford
Treasurer, IFNTF 

National Teaching Fellow, Professor and Head of Education Division,
School of Biosciences, Cardiff University, UK 


Laura Ritchie
Secretary, IFNTF 

Professor Learning and Teaching, National Teaching Fellow,  

University of Chichester, West Sussex, UK 


James Intriligator
Vice-President (USA), IFNTF

National Teaching Fellow and Professor of the Practice and Director of Strategic Innovation, 

Dept of Mechanical Engineering, Tufts University, Boston, USA 


Srini Sampalli
Vice-President (Canada), IFNTF 

Professor and National 3M Teaching Fellow, 

Faculty of Computer Science, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada 


Sally Kift
Vice-President (Australia), IFNTF,
National Teaching Award Winner, National Senior Teaching Fellow, 

President, Australian Learning and Teaching Fellows (ALTF) 


Heather Kavan

Vice-President (New Zealand), IFNTF
National Teaching Excellence Award Winner, Senior Lecturer, 

School of Communication, Journalism and Marketing, Massey University, New Zealand 


No comments: